Geo Week News

December 8, 2009

ASTM E57 Executive Subcommittee on 3D Imaging Systems Elected

Chairman Alan Lytle, Vice Chairman Alan Aindow, Recording Secretary Alan Metzel and Membership Secretary Tom Greaves will lead the ASTM International E57 Technical Subcommittee on 3D Imaging Systems for the term Jan. 1, 2010 to Dec. 31, 2011.Formed in 2006, the E57 subcommittee of approximately 125 members meets in January and June of each year and includes approximately 40 members attending three days of technical meetings. This committee addresses the development of standards and issues related to 3D imaging systems’ specification and performance evaluation, which include laser scanners and optical range cameras, for applications including construction and maintenance, surveying, mapping and terrain characterization, manufacturing (aerospace, shipbuilding, etc.), transportation, mining, mobility, historic preservation and forensics. The committee has its standards published in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 10.04, which is overseen by four technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction. Stakeholders include manufacturers, federal agencies, design professionals, professional societies, trade associations and academia.

Want more stories like this? Subscribe today!

Read Next

Related Articles


Join the Discussion